Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


31 Days of Progress – January Wrap Up
February 6, 2013, 9:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This coming a bit late, but better late than never.  January was a fruitful month, I post the  grand totals at the end of the post.

Library Book 50+/Read A Latte 100/Romance Challenge

22) Oracles Moon Thea Harrison Well I had thought Storm’s Heart was my favorite, but this one has taken that title. I loved Khalil and how he was trying to adapt and the story was amazing. Thea Harrison is one of my absolute favorites and I just can’t say enough good things about her.

23) Lethal Rider Larissa Ione Oh how I love her books as well. Again this was my favorite of the series. I loved Thantos, he was all I had hoped for. I’m dying for the final book Rogue Rider. I’m requesting it from the library as I write this! I’m all a quiver.

24) The Undying Heart Zoe Archer This was a first read by a new author to me. I’m still on the fence as to what I thought of it. She writes amazing characters and the story. I just don’t know if I’m buying the premise behind it. It was a zombie book, kind of a first for me. So he’s broken the mind control of the “master”, I can buy that, he swears vengeance, okay I can believe that as well, but he doesn’t breathe and doesn’t bleed, but he’s got working parts, if you know what I mean. Slightly fantastical to me, sure I know it’s a paranormal romance about zombies, but somethings just bugging me about it. I have the rest in the series to read and I’ll see what I think about it more after the rest.

25) True Colors Jayne Ann Krentz An old school this one dated itself as firmly in the 80s. A problem I have with her older books is that the male always thinks he knows best and tries to force his way. Sure I know this was the style then and honestly men still try to get away with it. I have a problem with the overly chatty sensitive men in books too. I don’t always think its real. Granted yes its fiction and romance at that, but I want to buy into it. Books are my mini vacations and frankly I want to drink the Kool Aid while I’m there.

26) Serpent In Paradise Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Stephanie James I adored this book, I loved the people, the setting and the story. It was one I couldn’t put down and I’ll be looking for it to add to my stash. I recommend it.

27) Simon says Bianca D’Arc This was a new author for me again. It was a novella with The Undying Heart. Zombies again but the traditional take on them. I enjoyed it and I’ll look for more of her work. It was a bit steamy, but it wasn’t the whole story. Sure I love the smut, but I want more than that I want a story line and things happening and going on.

28) The Silver Snare Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Stephanie James Ooh another oldie but goodie, I loved this man the way he conducted himself, it totally reminded me of Lord of the Flies a little. I didn’t want it to end, it was divine. I will be looking for this book as well to add to my collection.

29) After Dark Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Jayne Castle I love her Harmony books this is the first one and it opens up a whole new world and culture. All  can say is that I want a dustbunny!

30) Bridal Jitters Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Jayne Castle This was a novella tucked in with After Dark, I love Sam and Virgina, it’s really a charming tale.

31) Test of Time Jayne Ann Krentz I’ve had horses since I was 10 and showed a Quarter horse in halter competition, so one of my biggest pet peeves is when authors get it wrong. She didn’t, but one thing you can’t fault Krentz on is her research. For the record, hay and straw are different. Hay is food and straw is bedding, hay is green, straw is yellow. In my part of the country straw is about $2.25 a bale and hay is at least $5.  Please get it right authors.

32) Thief of Hearts Tess Gerritsen A new author again. it wasn’t a bad book, just not a stand out. It was well written and had a lot going on, just a bit forgettable.

So January totals are 32 out of 50 for the library challenge and 32 out of 100 for the Read A Latte. For the Vampire January challenge I read 4 books. February is Angels/Nephelium. I have books for that. Archangel, Jovah’s Angel, The Allelluia Files, Angelseeker and Angelica by Sharon Shinn. I might get some by Nalini Singh if I have time.

So my plans for the coming month, read, read ,read. Seriously, I’m plowing my way through The Women of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong. In between that I have a ton of Jayne Ann Krentz from SearchOhio that have shorter loan times that I need to get through. I’d also like to get started on Interview with the Vampire and Gargantua and Pantagruel.  So lots of plans, now just to find th time to squeeze it all in.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

