Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


23 Days of Progress
January 23, 2013, 7:26 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Coming in a littler later than usual with a progress report.  I’ve made significant progress with 10 books read since my last check in. So lets dive right in.

Library Book Challenge (50+)/Read A Latte (cappuccino 100)/Romance Challenge (at least 5)

13) Crystal Flame Jayne Ann Krentz This was one of her older paranormal novels. it was new to me and as usual she delivered. She always has such well-formed characters with strong voices. The story was fast paced and interesting. And she finished the story, one of my biggest grievances is when the story ends abruptly with no follow-up, where I’m left wondering well what happens next? White Teeth by Zadie Smith did this to me and three years later I still find myself wondering the h*** happened. So it’s always a good thing in my book, as it drives me frickin nuts otherwise.

14) Dream Eyes Jayne Ann Krentz This is her brand new book that I couldn’t wait to get my hot little hands on. This is the second book in the Dark Legacy trilogy, Copper Beach was the first. Again she writes such strong men, yet equally as strong women. I love her paranormal books, she has always focused more on the story then the sex. I really can’t wait to see what happens in the next book, I have my ideas and I can’t wait to see if I’m right.

15) Sweet Starfire Jayne Ann Krentz This was one of her older futuristic novels. I have to say it was one of my favorites that I’ve read. I loved the story it was unique, not a take that I’ve read a bunch of different ways. She always has such well researched books, really shows her roots as a librarian. A secret dream of mine would be to walk around inside her head barefoot to soak up some of her awesomeness. I will recommend this one greatly.

16) The Fire King Marjorie M Liu I love her books she’s so unique and her books are interesting. This one really did not disappoint, in fact my second favorite book of the Dirk and Steele series.  Her novella in Dark Dreamers A Dream of Stone and Shadows remains my favorite. I loved Charlie. I will say that The Fire King was intense and fast paced. I didn’t see part of the ending coming, it was pretty exciting. I’m glad he wasn’t disillusioned.

17) Soft Focus Jayne Ann Krentz Not one of my favorites by her, but honestly she doesn’t write a bad book. Again her research is top-notch and she’s always cutting edge. All I can say is egg sucking bastard, what a great line.

18) Industrial Magic Kelley Armstrong I came across her by chance and I’m so glad I did! I love her books, this one was fast paced and I loved getting to know Lucas better, seeing the family dynamics. Jaime Vegas is a hoot and I’m looking forward to her book and I can’t wait to see if she stirs Jeremy up. Fast paced and edgy!

19) No Control Shannon K Butcher I love her Sentinel books and I came across this romantic suspense at the library. It’s a reread, but damn its one of my favorites. I adore Caleb, he’s so strong and compassionate. I couldn’t wait for the first book No regrets to arrive from the interlibrary loan to dive into this book. This is on my to find and buy list. (I deplore new books, I love the hunt of finding used books at thrift stores, garage sales and used book stores. Used books have such personality.)

20) Fear the Darkness Alexandra Ivy I loved the Guardians of Eternity series and I fell for Caine a little at the end of the last book. He became such a relucant hero. Though the book left me wondering about the story line for the next book Avenge the Darkness. I’m looking forward to Santiago, he’s been a tease thus far.

21) Serpent’s Kiss Thea Harrison Oh what a talent she is! I can’t stop raving about her books! They transport you, she’s such a vivid writer and I figuratively devour her books. This one was no different, I whipped through it curled under my electric blanket and comforter with three dogs. It was only 2 degrees yesterday here in Northwestern Ohio. I don’t know what the wind chill was, but yikes too cold for me.

No new books read for Vampire January in my Paranormal Challenge, however I’m gearing up for Angel February! I’m revisiting an old favorite collection! The Books of Samaria by Sharon Shinn, Archangel, Jovah’s Angel, The Alleluia Files, Angelica and Angel Seeker, along with a couple of novellas. So excited to re read these.

I’m still waiting for Thousand and One Nights to come in to the library. I’m going to ask about it today when I head in to pick up a few on hold. My library books are under control so I will be starting Interview with the Vampire (I own it, along with most of the other books).

What I’m working on right now, Oracle’s Moon Thea Harrison, shaping up to be one of my favorites, Haunted by Kelley Armstrong starting slow, but will pick up. I love Eve Levine, she’s such a badass. I will also be starting Serpent in Paradise by Jayne Ann Krentz and next on the list is Lethal Rider by Larissa Ione. So no end in sight for me, yipee!!

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

