Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


11 Days of Progress
January 11, 2013, 9:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

January’s clipping along and so am I! I’m making excellent progress and reading awesome books.

I also signed up for another challenge Banned Books. This is according the American Library Association’s list of banned/challenged books. It’s rather exciting and I was surprised how many books I had read on the lists. Also did you know that the Harry Potter books were challenged?? That’s a head scratcher. I signed up at the lowest level Making waves for 5 books. I’ve got a lot on my plate and I want to be sure I can reach my goals, as always I can always bump up to a higher level later in the year. The books I have selected so far and are subject to change, but probably not are:

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings Maya Angelou

The Outsiders SE Hinton

American Psych Bret Easton Ellis

Slaughterhouse Five Kurt Vonnegut

One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest Ken Kesey

I can crossover some of these books for my other challenges.

Onto my progress for the challenges.

Library Book Challenge (50+)

7) Fabulous Beast by Jayne Ann Krentz Wowzers this was a fun read, no one does a strong hero like Krentz. This was one of her old school novels that I hadn’t read before and it was a treat.

8) Night of the Magician Jayne Ann Krentz Again a strong hero but he had his work cut out with an equally strong heroine that wasn’t sure she liked him at all. It’s always fun when the man has to put out some effort in the chase.

9)Storms Heart Thea Harrison This is the second book in The Elder Race series. Oh what wonderful paranormal books they are. She has an amazing voice and style. I was particularly looking forward to this one with Tiago a Thunderbird and Nininan a Dark Fae. I can’t help it but a strong protective man does it for me.

10) Wanted: Undead or Alive Kerrelyn Sparks Phineas finally got his grove on. He’s so likeable and I was happy he got a happy ending with a twist.

11) Wild About You Kerrelyn Sparks This is the current book in the Love At Stake series. I like the shifters in the series and I’ve been curious about Howard the were bear. He really is a honey bear.

12) Dangerous Magic Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Stephanie James This was a doozy. I devoured it fast and with anticipation. He was tough and immune to her charm. She charmed her way through life and people, but he wasn’t swayed by her ways. It was fast paced and you know you were rooting for her to teach him l lesson on manners.

Same books above for the Read A Latte Challenge so 12/100

Same books as above for the Romance Challenge.

Wanted: Undead or Alive counted for the Paranormal Challenge so 4 for Vampire January.

Onto my current reads and planning aheads. I’m currently reading Crystal Flame by Jayne Ann Krentz. Its divine, I love her futuristic and paranormal works.

As of today I have in my hot little hands her brand new Dream Eyes which I’ll start when I’m done with Crystal Flame or before. It’s not uncommon for me to read two or three books at a time.

After that I have Fear the Darkness by Alexandra Ivy and Industrial Magic by Kelly Armstrong to start. I have also requested The Thousand and One Nights from the library to start my Bucket List Challenge. Off to read covered in dogs!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great picks for my Banned Books Challenge! Thanks again for joining & I’m looking forward to reading about the books you read 🙂

Comment by Christine @Buckling Bookshelves

Also, don’t forget to check back (or subscribe) for updates…I’ll soon be posting a list of books I was most surprised to find out have been challenged…there are some seriously crazy titles on those lists!

Comment by Christine @Buckling Bookshelves




Leave a Reply

