Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


Catching Up to Speed
January 6, 2013, 6:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Okay so we’re now on the 6th day of the new year. My birthday has once again rolled around and once again I couldn’t quite remember how old I’m supposed to be. Sad, but true. I’m not one of those women who freaked out when she turned 30 or this year 31. I have lots I still want to do and by George I will!  Though who to blackmail into dog sitting six dogs??? Well for now I’ll tackle my reading goals. My niece helped me with the last blog post explaining the library book challenge, this post will help explain the others. Then I’ll follow-up with the progress I’ve made and what I hope to get read.

The next challenge I am really looking forward to starting is the Bucket List challenge. These are books that are on your “bucket list” to read. This ties in perfectly with my 1001 Books to Read Before I Die list. I am really excited about this list. I signed up at the Committed Level of 12 books. Again I want to have feasible goals, because the guidelines state that you can’t decrease your goal, but as the year goes on you can bump up to the next level. That is my true goal to bump up to the next level.

Embarrassment of Riches is the next challenge this is for the people who buy books and say I’ll read that, but haven’t gotten around to it. I have some of these though for the most part I read my books. I signed up for the Bronze level to read 12 books. Again I’m going to use this challenge to read the books I’ve acquired for my 1001 Book list. I’m motivated to make a dent in it this year.

A challenge I’m excited about, it was the first challenge I signed up for. The Anne Rice Challenge. Oh how I love her. I have a goal on my 101 Things to Do in 1001 Days list to reread the Vampire Chronicles. So perfect. I’m at the Lestat de Lioncourt level to read 6-10 books which fits the Chronicles perfectly. I may bump it up later seeing where I’m at. I’d like to read the Sleeping Beauty trilogy.

I also signed up for the Read A Latte Challenge this is just a volume challenge as to how many books you can read in a year. I signed up at the Cappuccino level of 100. This is about average for me. I wouldn’t mind seeing if I can bump up to the next level of 150+. But again for now feasible.

Romance Reading Challenge, I won’t lie, I like me some smut. Also I like happy endings, I’m terribly sentimental, sometimes I cry. This challenge is a little unique as it’s a drawing, so however many books you read are the entries into the contest. So there’s really no set limit. Fun!

And finally this one tweaked my interest its a Paranormal reading Challenge. But, but what makes it cool is that there’s a subject for each month. As far as I can tell you only need to read at least one book per month.

This is the breakdown for the year:

January  Vampire

February Angels/Nephilim

March Fey

April Demons

May Aliens

June Zombies

July Witches and Wizards

August Mermaids

September Dragons

October Ghosts

November Werewolves/Shapeshifters

December Other

So really how cool is that, the wheels are all ready turning with ideas.

In a nutshell, there are my reading goals along with the Library Book challenge for the year. It’s a much needed fire under the arse. Seeing as how I love to make lists, really I love it!! I sat down a few days before the New Year and made up my lists and projections. Then I stewed for a few days waiting for it to begin. So without further ado this is my projections for the challenges.

The Library Book Challenge I have no set books to read other than the abundance I have currently checked out. I’m devoting January to my library books, then I will move on to the other lists. The thing I love about these challenges is that you can cross challenge with the other lists. So one book can count for multiple challenges. So even clearing out my library books I am making progress on several lists.

The Bucket List this is my goal going in chronological order from the end of my list the oldest to the newest this is what I hope to read

Thousand and One Nights

Gargantua and Pantagruel Francoise Rabelais

Don Quixote Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra

The Pilgrims Progress John Bunyan

The Princess of Cleves Marie Madelaine Pioche de Lavergne, Comtesse de La Fayette

A Tale of a Tub Jonathan Swift

Robinson Crusoe Daniel Defoe

Love In Excess Eliza Haywood

Moll Flanders Daniel Defoe

Roxanne Daniel Defoe

Gulliver’s Travels Jonathan Swift

A Modest Proposal Jonathan Swift

 

For my Embarrassment of Riches Challenge I have so far

Gargantua and Pantagruel Francoise Rabelais

Don Quixote Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra

Robinson Crusoe Daniel Defoe

Moll Flanders Daniel Defoe

Gulliver’s Travels Jonathan Swift

A Modest Proposal Jonathan Swift

I have a large gap of books that I would need to request from the library in my 1001 Book list before I have another book, so we’ll play the other half of this list by ear, ideally I would like to keep chipping away at the list. But if not I have other books to read that I have all ready purchased prior to the start of this list.

The Anne Rice Challenge

Interview with the Vampire

The Vampire Lestat

The Queen of the Damned

The Tale of the Body Thief

Memnoch the Devil

The Vampire Armand

Merrick

Blood and Gold

Blackwood Farm

Blood Canticle

I own most of these so I will be getting started probably around February.

Again with the Read A Latte Challenge no set list other than what I read from the library and my other challenges.

Romance challenge again what I have from the library.

Paranormal challenge whatever the month dictates, I have a few ideas of books I want to read, but nothing concrete so far. I’ll keep updating.

So this is what I have planned so far, I hope I can keep pushing the limits and of course challenging myself. Mostly I needed the reset to motivate myself again. My nest post will have the progress I’ve made so far since this turned into quite a large post!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

