Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


1001 Books to Read Before You Die August Update
September 4, 2010, 9:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

August is the first year anniversary of my book challenge! It has been a good month! I read 4 books so I’m bouncing back slowly, still way behind, but not as much as I could be!

I finished two oldies this month, Eupheses:The Anatomy of Wit and The Unfortunate Traveller.

Eupheses by John Lyly was a little hard to take in, it was far too wordy and long winded for my taste. It was a slow read took me about two months to read it.

On the other hand The Unfortunate Traveller by Thomas Nashe was a real fun read, it was light hearted and fun. In the future I’ll look for more of his works to read.

I also read the Island of Dr Moreau by H G Wells. I’m a fan, I love his books. This was deliciously dark and a truly great book to read. I’d love to read it over again!

I also read To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. It was a divine book and worth all the awards it received. It told a great story and taught wonderful life lessons at the same time. I recommend it far and wide!

Its a great month when I enjoyed three of the four books I read. I’m currently reading

I stand at 46 books read, I’m 14 books behind.

I’m currently reading Ben Hur by Lew Wallace and On Beauty by Zadie Smith.

I’ve had both from the library for a long time, time to read and send back!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

