Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


1001 Books to Read Before You Die July Update
August 2, 2010, 7:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

July has expired, with a bit of relief, it was a long month. I made good progress this month. I finally finished For Whom The Bell Tolls, by Hemingway. It was a great book, but rather anticlimatic, I wanted to know what happened to Robert Jordan. It ended as if he rather ran out of ink or paper. But still by far the best Hemingway I’ve read.

It was a bit of an anticlimatic month, as I finished White Teeth by Zadie Smith. What a marvelous book, I highly recommend it. However the ending was rather hurried, the wrap up on the characters which had drug out for chapters in places was wrapped up in a page. I was left wanting more. I had come to really like the people she’d created and wanted to know how they got on, and I didn’t really get that.

I also read The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells. What a deliciously dark book. It was far darker than I expected and loved it. Not at all anticlimactic like War of the Worlds. I have the Island of Dr Moreau to read and I can’t wait.

I’m currently reading Euphues: The Anatomy of Wit by John Lyly. It’s written in that wonderfully descriptive way that takes 10 pages to say that I love you. I do have a problem with the footnotes on this version. They refer to where the quote was taken from, but not as to what it means. Bummer. I’ve about a quarter of the book to go.

I’m also sneaking in an off list book right now. Ladies of the Lake by Haywood Smith. I adore her books, she has such a great sense of humor.

My next books to read will be On Beauty and The Island of Dr Moreau

I have from the library to read right now.

Ben Hur Lew Wallace

Fingersmith Sarah Waters

The Unfortunate Traveller Thomas Nashe

On Beauty Zadie Smith

American Pastoral Philip Roth

The Island of Dr Moreau HG Wells

The Light of Day Graham Swift

To Kill A Mockingbird Harper Lee

So I sit at 42 books read, I am 18 books behind. Not a great place to be. Happy Reading!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thanks, bookmarked!

Comment by Eda Cunanan




Leave a Reply

