Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


1001 Books to Read April Update
April 30, 2010, 11:41 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So April’s to a close. Its going fast! I was tickled to finish 4 books this month. I was especially happy to finish The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy, it seems I’ve been working on it for months. It was a slow read for about half of the book then it really picked up and finished well.

I also read two books by Philip Roth, Portnoy’s Complaint and The Human Stain. Both were pretty good. I really enjoyed The Human Stain.

I also finished The Lord of the Flies by William Golding. This was a revisit as I had read it in high school. A great look at human nature.

I have lots of books to read and I’ve had some great successes lately in finding the books I need. At my favorite book store, she had The Wold According to Garp by John Irving! I also found at the library For Whom the Bell Tolls by Hemingway and Possessing the Secret of Joy by Alice Walker. I have discovered that I love Alice Walker, her books are divine.

So all in all a good month, that has revived me for the next go round. I’m currently reading Sabbath’s Theater by Philip Roth and Possessing the Secret of Joy by Alice Walker. The Alice Walker book will be finished if not tonight then tomorrow. I can barely put it down. Sabbath’s Theater is raunchy, I mean I read romance for many years, but this is dirty. So its been a  bit of a slow read. Not my favorite Philip Roth thus far.

I have from the library to read: On Beauty Zadie Smith, Ben Hur Lew Wallace, American Pastoral Philip Roth, For whom the Bell Tolls Hemingway, The Light of Day Graham Swift and Possessing the Secret of Joy Alice Walker.

So I sit right now with 35 books read. I’m 10 books behind. Bummer.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

hey… don’t give up. You’re doing great. I’m just listening to Return of the Native as an audio book from librivox.org right now. Some coincidence.

If you’re into the 1001 books, you might want to get yourself a copy of the new v4 of the spreadsheet.

Comment by Arukiyomi




Leave a Reply

