Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


1001 Books To Read Before You Die March Update
April 1, 2010, 3:22 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So I’m still reeling from the aftermath of The Unconsoled and The Plot Against America, it was a rough month. I’ve made good progress this month still behind, but coming on. I read The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger, Aesop’s Fables, The Mayor of Casterbridge and Far From a Madding Crowd both by Thomas Hardy.

This sits me at 31 books read, I’m 9 books off my goal, counting April. So not terrible, but not great.

I’m currently reading Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy and Portnoy’s Complaint by Philip Roth. I’ve read 4 Hardy books now and Return of the Native is my fifth and its starting really slow. I’m dragging through it. I figure one out of five isn’t bad odds though. The Mayor and Madding Crowd were both great reads and went pretty quickly.

This is the second Philip Roth I’m reading, I like his books, but The Plot Against America was just a slow read. I’m blazing through Portnoy’s Complaint I expect to have it done either tonight or tomorrow at the latest. Its an interesting read.

I have to read from the library currently:

On Beauty Zadie Smith

The Human Stain Philip Roth

Sabbath’s Theater Philip Roth

Ben Hur Lew Wallace

Again I’m disappointed that I can not find two Hemingways on the shelf! For Whom the Bell Tolls and To Have and Have Not, makes me mad I want to finish him up. I’ll have to break down and request at the desk. I have some books to drop off so I’ll do that in the next few days. Happy reading and Happy Easter!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

