Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


1001 Books February Update
February 27, 2010, 11:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It was a rough month for my book challenge,  but I did finish two long books. The Unconsoled by Kazuo Ishiguro was a horrendous book. It was confusing and so completely anticlimactic. In my opinion the worst book I’ve read so far on the list. And it was a beast at well over 500 pages.

The Plot Against America by Philip Roth was a great book, it was just a slow read for me. It was a history book that played the what if game had Charles Lindbergh had been voted president in the 40s and America not entered WWII. A very cool look at history.

A few days ago I started far from the Madding Crows by Thomas Hardy. Its a beautifully written book and I’m cruising through it. Hopefully the end of next week it will be done.

Considering tomorrow is the last day of the month I’ll have to say that I’m behind by 8 books. Not the place I want to be, but it is what it is.

I currently have from the library The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy and The Return of the Native also by Thomas Hardy.

As I’ve mentioned before I like to read my way through an author before moving to the next. Though on my last trip to the library I have three branches of the Toledo Public library I like to frequent and I went to the Sylvania Ave branch,  I had a hard time finding books on my list. Thomas Hardy was about it.

I sat down today and went through my list and found what books I need to read to be done with an author. I have four Ian McEwans, one Alice Walker, one John Irving, two Hemingways, one Kazuo Ishiguro, six Philip Roths and two more Thomas Hardy. These are of course the books I specifically look for at the library and they continue to elude me. I’ll have to request them at the desk or figure out how on the website.

I discovered a local used books store and I found a bunch of my books I need in there for very reasonable.  Also going to visit my mother in Fulton County, a local library was having a used book sale. Again made out like a bandit with a donation.  So I’m plugging away and moving on to better books. I found my complete works of Edgar Allen Poe and I think I’ll turn in early and work my way through as he has three books on the list. happy Reading!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

