Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


1001 Books to read January Update
February 1, 2010, 12:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So January mys well be over. First off I finally caught my math error, its not 4 years, but 17 years to complete my goal! I was way off I know, this is why I read. Hubby figured it out for me.

So I finished Enduring Love by Ian McEwan and The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald. I love The Great Gatsby, I read this years ago and wanted to reread. Enduring Love had its moments, not completely terrible but not great.

I’m still working on The Unconsoled by Kazuo Ishiguro. Its a long, confusing book. I haven’t grasped quite what’s going on and that makes it hard to read. I’m plugging along, though.

I’m also working on The Plot Against America by Phillip Roth. Its actually a quite interesting book, its based in the 1940s and speculates what would have happened if Charles Limburgh was elected president. How America had its own Holocaust because of his German ties. Its a good book, but I haven’t gotten in the groove of it yet.

For a change I’m working on a third book Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte. I only need one more book to reach my goal for the month and I figured I could get this one done! I love the Bronte sisters. I might work on it yet tonight and try to finish it. I’ve gotten back in the habit of writing before I go to bed and I really missed it and love doing it again! Though hubby could do without the bedside lamp! He keep threatening with a dimmer lamp.

I went to a local second hand book store this weekend, oh my God! I spent more than I should’ve but they had so many of the books I was looking for for my list! I splurged and got:

Agnes Grey Anne Bronte

1984 George Orwell

Gone with the Wind Margaret Mitchell

Anna Kariena Leo Tolstoy

The Catcher in the Rye J D Salinger

Rebecca Daphne du Maurier

The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde R L Stevenson

I picked up a few more off list and a cookbook for my SIL.

I’ll finish what I have from the library and work on what I have now. I think I’m getting a bit burnt out and read an off book this weekend, pure shameless smut romance novel. =) it was a great change and I think it’ll fresh me back up for the challenge.

Honestly learning this was going to take me 17 years took some wind out of my sails. I have another list of books I can’t wait to read. So I’ll just have to sneak them in as I go. Say a prayer for me to get through The Unconsoled, at least its not as dry as The Remains of the Day.

Current tally 24 read, 1 book short of January goal.

Happy Reading

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

