Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


101 Things in 1001 Days
January 5, 2010, 8:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today marks the first year down on my list. I started this list a year ago today. A year has gone by pretty darn fast!

I’ve gotten 25 tasks done so far. I’m closing in quickly on getting the kitchen painted. Just some trim work and a second coat! Yeah! Its the last of my indoor painting tasks.

A recap of the year, I apinted our office, bathroom, finished the trim in the living room, installed a new bathroom vanity and shower doors.

I also tried 25 new recipes, and it took me nearly a year but I read 50 books. I also landscaped the front yard and put in an herb garden. I transplanted a few roses from my parent’s yard, but decided to leave the majority therea s they are hard to find and I don’t want to take the chance of loosing them or not being able to move them when we buy a new house.

I joined a book club as well which has led me to my new pursuit of reading 1001 books in 4 years!

I’ve also done some organizing I have a file system for loose photos, organized our closet, under the kitchen sink and now with the new vanity under the bathroom sink as well. I’ve also freecycled quite a bit of clutter from our house. Its an ongoing goal and not one I think will ever be done!

I also joined Books for Soldiers and Adopt a Platoon and I’ve adopted several very brave and courageous servicemen. In the light of my new found patriotism, I also joined our brand new branch of the USO.

Along with my herb garden I made my own potpourri and room spray. Both are a work in progress!

I also hadn’t lived in our new house for too long before I started my list so I wanted to finish moving my stuff from my parent’s house. Done! I wanna know where I got all that stuff!

For my birthday my fiance and I went to see the dale chihuly glass exhibit at the Toledo Art Museum. I was a little bummed, it was a  very small exhibit and not as colorful as his usual work. But we did see a new piece and it was well worth the trip, it was by a woman who works in the Czech Republic she casts forms of women in dresses and then does it in glass and it was really breath taking. I’m going to look for ehr online as I can’t remember her name and look for a bigger collection of her work.

The new year will hopefully bring more progress, I’ll be done with the kitchen within the week. I don’t know where I’ll go from there. Most of the long term goals are done or nearly done. I’ll be graduating from college this year and that is one of the longer term ones.

As always I’ll keep my blog updated and let you all know how its going in the pits of Toledo!

`

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

