Rescuemefromurbanhell's Blog


101 Things in 1001 Days
November 13, 2009, 3:39 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So I gotta do something with my time while I waste away in the city. I’ve become quite the yahoo group junkie. I’m a member of more than I care to admit. One of my favorite is the 101 things in 1001 days group. I’ll include the link at the bottom.

Its pretty explanatory its a 101 things you can accomplish in 1001 days. Its best to use specific tasks. For example instead of try some new recipes try 25 new recipes. It can give you a definite goal to work toward.  I’m list orientated so I love this. I have my list posted on the side of the fridge with a pen and highlighter. I started my list on January 5th of this year. I started strong and lately its been a bummer. Though in November I’ve accomplished 3 tasks so I’m feeling the improvement! I’m getting motivated again. Now I just have to finish painting the kitchen, its been an albatross around my neck for nearly two months. I really hate painting and I’m pretty burned out since I painted the office, finished the trim in the living room, and painted the bathroom. I also have the horrid textured walls, so its an even bigger ordeal than a normal paint job. That will be the end of my painting projects! We’ve only been in the house for nearly two years and I’m still painting.

One of the longest tasks I had was to read 50 books, I just finished it a week or so ago. From my book club, yes a yahoo group called A Good Book, one of the themes is 1001 books to read before you die. I’ve undertaken the project. I’ll discuss further in a separate post. I’ll talk about the books I’m reading keep a running list of what I’m reading what I’m going to read and what I have read.

So back to 101 things, I’m kinda stalled. I don’t know what I’m going to do next. I’ve made my own potpourri and room spray. I was all excited to finish those since I had the herbs drying from my garden for the potpourri. I’ll have to consult the list and see where to go next.

I have a recipe to make my own laundry soap and I’ve finally tracked down a local place that sells Fels Naptha soap. Its an old timey soap that is a staple for homemade cleaners. I’m hoping I can get a deal for buying a case. So that fits in with my be frugal goal. I’m starting to set up a pantry and I really don’t need to buy much for groceries on a weekly basis. Again tips from another yahoo group this one the Pantry Challenge. A terrific group! Well I’ll keep this line updated!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My favorite part is figuring out where to go next!

Comment by opicana

I am getting old need time for myself.

The old man

Comment by Jerry A.




Leave a Reply

